Make a Blanket. Change a Life.

Click on this picture to see another video I made for My Very Own Blanket!

Click on this picture to see another video I made for My Very Own Blanket!

This January, I was involved in a course that gave me the opportunity to work at a non-profit organization called My Very Own Blanket. They donate blankets to children in the foster care system. Their mission is to give every foster child a blanket to call their very own, to comfort them is this trying period of their life.

After spending my time with this organization, I felt that their dedication to donating blankets was a great idea, and I wanted to help them out as much as possible.

For a community service project, I planned my own blanket-making workshop for my hometown community. I invited a local Girl Scout troupe, former teachers, and some of my neighbors to come and make a fleece blanket. We ended up making 19 blankets at this event!

It’s really easy to make a fleece blanket. Here is a video I made for My Very Own Blanket to show you how:

My Very Own Blanket is trying to donate 10,000 blankets to kids in foster care for this year. A few hours of community service will change those children’s lives forever.

Let me know what you think about this event!

-The Memory Maker

Leave a Reply

