A Long, Exciting Day

Today was one of those days that will be burned in my mind as one of the best days of my life.

Before today I had 3 things I was worried about. As Eric can probably vouch for, I have been saying these three statements for the past 4 months:

“God, I hope I have a good job.”
“What if I have shitty roommates?”
“I am just worried I won’t have any friends.”

Today I found out that I am working in Attractions in Fantasyland in the Magic Kingdom. This is an UNBELIEVABLY wonderful placement. Good job? Check.

I met my 5 suite mates today and believe that every one of them is amazing, normal, and fun. I cannot wait to get to know them better. And my roommate, Bonnie, is an absolutely perfect match for me. She is nerdy, funny, and about to have a lonely 5-month long distance relationship with her boyfriend too. We have so much in common, it’s crazy. Good roommates? Check.

Through the winding lines of registration, I was pushed into a situation where I met a lot of different people. Each one of them was friendly, talkative, and made this nerve-wracking day easy as can be. Every person here is meant to be a Disney employee, and therefore an easy friend to make. I am not at all worried that I am going to make some lasting friendships in this program. Friends? Check.

So far, everything has been working out for me. Let’s hope that continues throughout the program!

Look at these pictures from today!! Have you done the Program before? Any words of wisdom?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

-The Memory Maker

2 thoughts on “A Long, Exciting Day

  1. I think there will be a lot of similarities between DCP and a study abroad trip, since Disney really kind of has its own culture. So here is the advice I have for you:
    1. Make provisions for potential emergencies before you’re actually stuck in an emergency situation. Know where the nearest hospital and pharmacy are, and make sure one of your roommates knows where your insurance card is, just in case. Know where you can get your glasses fixed or get new ones in case something happens. Put the number of your landlord/whoever is in charge of your apartment in your phone. Also put in the number of a reputable local taxi company (look them up online to be sure they’re not sketchy). You never know. If you do have an emergency, you’ll be glad you took care of these things while you were calm and thinking clearly.
    2. You will probably be at least a little homesick at some point. This is totally normal and does not make you a baby or a defective adventurer or a bad Disney employee. It is possible to be homesick and still have a lot of fun. It is even possible to be VERY homesick and still have a lot of fun. (I was homesick more often than not in Ecuador, and it was still one of the best times of my life!) In my experience, the best thing is to acknowledge the homesickness and not ignore it. Set aside 15-30 minutes and cry, listen to music, look at pictures on Facebook, eat Nutella with a spoon…whatever you feel you need to do. But when that time is up, get up and go do something around other people, even if it’s just going to the grocery store. If you deal with homesickness up front in small increments, it’s less likely to overwhelm you when you’re not in a position to do anything about it.
    3. Take this opportunity to have some real adventures — things you can look back and tell my grandkids about (since you’re not going to have grandkids). Have some crazy times with your friends, but have some crazy times by yourself too.
    4. When you get home, you may have some reverse culture shock…like being “homesick” for Disney after you get over the initial excitement of seeing everyone again. This is also normal. And pretty much everyone you know will ask you how your experience was, and you will want to tell everyone every little detail, but most people will really just want to hear “It was great!” and then move on. This can feel really frustrating, but it’s good to be prepared for it. I eventually came up with a short answer that I kept repeating: “Ecuador was amazing! I had a really wonderful host family, and we got to see basically the entire country, which was cool.” Of course, your family and your close friends really will want to know every detail of your experience! 🙂

Leave a Reply

