The Fingerprint Fiasco

My only real responsibility today was to attend my Casting meeting, which was Disney’s opportunity to ensure that I am not a criminal or illegal alien. You think that having never been a part of any illegal activity, this procedure would run smoothly. But let me tell you, they had me sweating like a sinner in church.

First I’ll go from the beginning. I hopped on the bus at Chatham Square, headed for the Casting building. Disney never misses a chance to prove how magical they are. Here is the outside of the Casting building. (Please note at the top of the building there are hidden Mickey’s)

The Casting Building

The Casting Building

This building also has amazing doorknobs, just like Alice in Wonderland. Details like this are why I love this company.

Alice in Wonderland doorknobs!

Alice in Wonderland doorknobs!

Once we were inside we entered a rotunda with golden statues of some characters. Such a classy touch.

The rest of the day was in the offices, in which photography was not allowed.

Today was all about finalizing the logistics of becoming an employee. I had my paperwork processed. I learned about the next few days of the program, and my extremely early call times for my Traditions class and Training orientation. They asked if I was a criminal. They asked if I had any aliases.  And I was also fingerprinted.

Well, I was supposed to be fingerprinted…

Turns out I am genetically incapable of giving a decent fingerprint scan on their newfangled technologically savvy machine. Which makes Disney think you are trying to conceal your identity. So they lead me to a secluded table to fill out paperwork about where I had ever lived in the past 7 years. Piece of cake right?

Not when you’re terrified that Disney is going to think you’re a criminal.

I could not, for the life of me, remember the address for my first apartment. Just like any scared little girl I called Mom first, hoping she would know it. Unfortunately, I then remembered my parents were both flying home. So I called my former roommate who did not initially pick up. I felt like I was going to die. Thank God for Google Maps, because finding the street name triggered my memory and I could write down the address.

It was just a small blip in the Disney procedure, but a giant fiasco in my mind.

What about you? Ever had issues with background checks? Let me know in the comments!

-The Memory Maker

Leave a Reply

