“We create HAPPINESS”

Yesterday was one of those days where I kept constantly thinking I was dreaming. My body was moving me from place to place, but my mind was screaming “THIS IS SO AWESOME!” But let me start from the beginning and tell you all about my real-life dream.

Even though I had to wake up at 5 am, I felt like a kid on Christmas. This was the day of my Traditions class; a seminar in which Disney introduces you to the heritage, values, and practices of the company. This was the moment that we were officially recognized as “a part of the family”. (I’m not going to go into a whole lot of detail about this Traditions class, because it is a very special moment for the new College Participants. I don’t want to spoil anything. )

Here are the things I can tell you. Traditions is held in the Disney University building. Again, it perplexes me that even an office building can be filled with such magical touches. Characters were hanging from the ceiling. Walls were filled with snapshots of Disney history. Just a really cool place.

My class was able to tour the Magic Kingdom, including areas only for cast members. This was my reaction the entire time.

I received my cast member card (which gives me access to the parks for free), and my name tag. For some reason, receiving this name tag made me extremely emotional. It was the first time I really started to understand that this was really happening.

And if that wasn’t enough, they had a welcome video to conclude the seminar.  The video was of hundreds of cast members saying the first three words of the Disney mission, “We create happiness”. Hearing that over and over again really hit close to home. Disney has been a major part of my life from the very beginning. And these were the people that helped create my happiness. Now it’s my turn. I am now a part of a much bigger family that has one goal in mind:

We create happiness. 

-The Memory Maker

PS. In case you want to read something academic, I wrote about Disney and their Organizational Socialization. They follow the theory perfectly, which explains why people line up for hours to join the team. Interesting stuff.

One thought on ““We create HAPPINESS”

  1. Pingback: 13 Things I Did in 2013 | The Memory Maker

Leave a Reply

