Jammin’ in the Jungle

A Wilderness Explorer is a friend to all, be it plants or fish or tiny mole.

Welcome to the Animal Kingdom!

Welcome to the Animal Kingdom!

Today I became a Wilderness Explorer at Disney’s Animal Kingdom. This means that I, along with my roommate Felicia, traveled around to different exhibits throughout the park. Each of these exhibits taught us something about different cultures, wild animals, or conservation tips to keeping our Earth healthy. It’s completely free to participate, and you earn badges for every station you visit. Seriously, I found this to be extremely fun and I learned a lot. Like a scavenger hunt, with knowledge!

I earned 17 of my 31 badges today. Here some of the facts I learned!

  • Asian Culture Badge- Indonesia is made up of 17,508 islands! 3 of those islands are inhabited only by Komodo dragons, which can reach up to 3 meters long.
  • Forestry Badge- If 3000 people used both sides of a piece of paper, we could save up to a million trees. Think about that!
  • Bat Badge- Fruit bats have a 6 foot wingspan and can eat up to 600 insects an hour every night.
  • Tiger Badge- Tigers can sleep 15-18 hours a day! Wouldn’t that be nice.
  • Fossil Badge- The fossil of a 7 ton Tyrannosaurs Rex was found at The Animal Kingdom (now you can find the ride Primeval World). That fossil is on display at the Field Museum.

Check out my video highlights of today’s adventures at The Animal Kingdom!

Thanks for checking out my day as a Wilderness Explorer! Let me know what you think!

-The Memory Maker

One thought on “Jammin’ in the Jungle

  1. Pingback: The Little Things | The Memory Maker

Leave a Reply

