Keeping Up with the Course Work

I’m a few weeks into my Creativity and Innovation and have a lot of projects to catch you up on.

Our first assignment was to hold an imaginary interview with someone that we thought was a creative inspiration. I chose JK Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series. We could display our interview answers in some creative way. For this imaginary interview, Jo wrote each of her responses to my questions on parchment, as if delivered by owl. She even included her own Chocolate Frog card. It was so interesting learning about JK Rowling, and how her creativity stemmed from the struggles of her past. The quote that really stood out to me came from her Harvard Commencement Speech, saying, “It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might has well not have lived at all, in which case you have failed by default.

My next project was a personal success kaleidoscope, which I’ll admit was a difficult assignment for me. First off, it took me far too long to think of 10+ of my personal successes, let alone try to think of a creative way to display them. With the help of my crafty roommate, Bonnie, the fresh eyes of my parents, and Eric’s support through the tears of my frustration, I finally put together a kaleidoscope that I am proud of. Each of these wheels spins to show one of my successes. I wanted the display to be colorful, interactive, and informational. Looking back on it, it’s interesting to see what I consider to be my successes. They vary from my academics, my hobbies, my personal life, and my professional life.

Today, we divided into our focus groups and went on a field trip. I am in the “entertainment group”, and we call ourselves “The Producers”.  We can share our stories and knowledge about performing, helping to stir up some creative and innovate ideas to improve the entertainment industry. Our professor let us out of class early to explore the focus of our group, and we decided to check out the entertainment aspects of Downtown Disney. It was a lot of fun, and we were able to pick out a lot of creative ideas from the “show” side of Downtown Disney that can contribute to our personal creativity, or future projects.

Overall, this class is amazing so far, and I am so excited to see what projects come next!

-The Memory Maker

2 thoughts on “Keeping Up with the Course Work

Leave a Reply

