I Know Every Mile Will Be Worth My While

This week, I really went the distance. I felt like I made some major steps in my academic and professional life.

1. I made it onto the slideshow at work! Our leaders take pictures of us while we are working, and demonstrating the basic values of the company. Apparently I am a safe cast member, and all of Fantasyland will know it!

Waving to those shells, like a boss!

Waving to those shells, like a boss!

2. For class, we had the assignment of going to the Florida Mall! We observed different stores, looking at their creative displays, and spoke with the employees about their creative input in the design of the store. Once we got enough information, we combined different aspects from the stores we observed into our very own store concept. My group developed an idea of a clothing store called “Just for Me”. This store would allow customers to customize their own outfits, making sure the style, size, and color is just for them. Really fun group project.

3. I went to a chocolate museum with my Mall Project group. Chocolate Museum? YES! World of Chocolate! Although I haven’t done the tour of the life-sized chocolate sculptures shipped from Austria, I did taste delicious cakes and gelato. Sent me into my happy place, also known as a chocolate-coma.

4. The highlight of my week was going to the College Program Alumni Speaker Series, listening to Disney Event Managers on how they got their start. From planning the College Participant Housing Events, to the Fairytale Weddings, to the amazing events for our Guests. I was lucky enough to network with them, soaking up as much wisdom as I could. If anything, this opportunity just gave me a boost to go out and do what I want to do. I want to plan Disney events. And for the first time in a long time, I’m actually starting to see that as a possibility.

That’s all for now. Let me know what you think!

-The Memory Maker

3 thoughts on “I Know Every Mile Will Be Worth My While

Leave a Reply

