Hugs and Slobber Kisses

I see thousands of people go Under the Sea every day. Most people are so wrapped up in their own vacation that I just blend into the scene. 

But then there are the instances where Guests show their appreciation. And those are the moments that make my job absolutely amazing. 

One instance was when I was working one of the special parties at the Magic Kingdom. At this point in the evening, I was thanking Guests for coming on the ride and wishing them a wonderful evening. Up comes a girl about 5 years old. She told me how much she enjoyed the ride, how much she enjoyed meeting Ariel, and ended by saying, “I’m just so glad you are here! I’m going to hug you now!” Then she threw her arms around me in one of the sweetest embraces I could have ever received. 

Tonight, a similar story happened. I had just stopped the ride to assist a party off of their shells. Many of them were Guests with disabilities. As they were getting ready to leave, one lady hugged me and kissed my arm. When she pulled away, she pointed at my arm with a concerned look on her face. Turns out, she had left a big wet mark on my sleeve. I couldn’t help but giggle, and told her not to worry. That was a slobber mark of love. 

My final story is between me and a little girl dressed as a little mermaid. As she walks into the ride, I call out “Have a great swim, little mermaid!
She come back up to me and says, “I just want to let you know, I’m not the little mermaid. This is just my costume.
To which I reply, “Well you are still a beautiful little mermaid to me! Have fun!

…what a thoughtful child.

Anyway, it’s moments like this that keep me smiling. 

-The Memory Maker

Leave a Reply

